Back to All Events

Behaving Differently

  • Plank Gallery pin Plank Gallery 3913 Airport Way S Seattle, WA 98108 USA (map)

Behaving Differently is a bicoastal group show bringing together artists from across the country to respond to the question, what is a painting? Historically a painting has been categorized within the simple definition of a practice of applying paint, pigment or color to a solid surface. However, contemporary painting is now challenging categories and traditions of two dimensionality. Behaving Differently is an investigation of how and why something is or is not a painting. Come decide for yourself and see work by artists from Florida, North Carolina, New York, Wyoming, California and Washington. 

Opening Reception: Saturday June 2nd from 4 to 9 PM at Plank Gallery

Featured Artists:

Alex Connelly - http://alexconnelly.com/
Andrew Wakefield - https://www.andrewsmithwakefield.com/
Annieo Klaas - http://www.annieoklaas.com/
Carmen Neely - http://carmeneliz.com/
Dale Castellucci - http://www.dalecastellucci.com/
Elizabeth Arzani - http://www.elizabetharzani.com/
Joshua Thompson - http://www.joshuathompsonstudio.com/
Junko Yamamoto - http://www.junkoyamamoto.com/
Luke Armitstead - http://www.lukearmitstead.com/
Lydia J. Goldbeck - http://www.lydiagoldbeck.com/
Rich Stevens - http://richmstevens.com/
Richelle Soper - http://www.richelle-soper.com/
Robin Green - http://robingreen.net/home.html
Stephanie Sherwood - http://stephaniesherwoodart.com/

Work on view through July 21st by Appointment